Legislative Action Alert

Action Alert!

The Connecticut General Assembly’s Judiciary Committee is actively considering two gun bills right now. One bill is pro 2nd Amendment and the other bill is anti-2nd Amendment.

Hundreds of our members have already sent letters to the committee members voicing their opposition to H.B. 6200 AN ACT CONCERNING THE PRESENTATION OF A CARRY PERMIT.

If you have not already sent an email to the committee members, please do so.

Even more important: If your legislator is a member of the Judiciary Committee, be sure to indicate that you are their constituent in your email.

Antigun extremists are already contacting state legislators. Committee members must hear from rational lawful gun owners.

Please take a moment to contact these key committee members. Copy and paste the email below, or for a greater impact draft your own.

There will be a public hearing scheduled soon (date & time TBD). When this happens, we will need members to attend the hearing and to submit testimony.

If you have any questions, email CCDL’s Legislative Coordinator Ray Bevis at legislative@ccdl.us


Dear Judiciary Committee Member,

As a fellow resident of Connecticut, I ask that you not support a bill that will allow police to profile and stop residents that are not under suspicion of a crime.

I urge you to support the firearm reciprocity bill. Forty-two other states already have some form of reciprocity. Legal firearm owners are not the ones committing crimes and are the true firearm safety advocates.

I urge that you:

OPPOSE H.B. 6200 AN ACT CONCERNING THE PRESENTATION OF A CARRY PERMIT.

SUPPORT AN ACT CONCERNING PERMIT AND CERTIFICATE TO CARRY A FIREARM RECIPROCITY

Thank you for your consideration

[Insert your name]


Send your email to each of the committee members below, or you may click here to open your email client prefilled out (may not work for everyone): EMAIL COMMITTEE

William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

Steven.Stafstrom@cga.ct.gov

David.Baram@cga.ct.gov

Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

Christine.Conley@cga.ct.gov

Jeff.Currey@cga.ct.gov

Stephanie.Cummings@housegop.ct.gov

Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

Dan.Fox@cga.ct.gov

Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

Stephen.Harding@housegop.ct.gov

Tony.Hwang@cga.ct.gov

Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

Tom.ODea@housegop.ct.gov

Robyn.Porter@cga.ct.gov

Emmett.Riley@cga.ct.gov

Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

Richard.Smith@housegop.ct.gov

 

HB6200 Update

THANK YOU, to the hundreds of members who took the time to respond to last night’s Action Alert.

Letting the Judiciary Committee members hear your voice in opposition to H.B.6200 ‘AN ACT CONCERNING THE PRESENTATION OF A CARRY PERMIT’ this early is key to letting the Committee know that gun owners in Connecticut are staying vigilant.

Unfortunately, the committee voted to raise this bill once again and move it closer to becoming law. The open carry bill was added to a long list of other bills which prevent it from being voted on individually. The vote passed by a voice vote, some committee members commented that their vote to raise isn’t necessarily their vote in support of any one bill on the agenda. Rep. Rob Sampson commented that the bill is unconstitutional on its face and should not even be on the agenda.

Now, that the committee voted to raise H.B.6200, the Legislative Commissioners’ Office (LCO) will draft the bill into the legal language. Once this happens we will prepare for the public hearing and public testimony stage of the process. A public hearing can happen anytime between now and the middle of March. No date has been set yet.

CCDL will continue to monitor this and keep our members updated on a public hearing date.

TIP: Start to prepare your written testimony for the hearing now and save it. Feel free to use some of the sample letters provided in last night’s Action Alert. You can also sign up through the Connecticut General Assembly website to track H.B.6200 yourself.

Carry On!
Ray Bevis
CCDL Legislative Coordinator

For more information:
Bill H.B. 6200
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=6200

Connecticut General Assembly website
https://www.cga.ct.gov

CCDL ACTION ALERT! Antigun Bill

Immediate Help Needed:

Our 2nd Amendment and 4th Amendment rights are once again being threatened here in Connecticut. The Connecticut General Assembly’s Judiciary Committee is considering raising a bill again to declare ‘open season’ on those who lawfully carry firearms. They want to allow police to stop, detain and demand permit holders to identify themselves even if all they are doing is legally carrying a firearm.

This bill (should it become actual law) will force carry permit holders to produce their permits on demand if a police officer simply sees you carrying a firearm. They want to eliminate the current law which requires a police officer to have reasonable suspicion of a crime before they can stop a permit holder and investigate.

We are asking CCDL members to contact these key members of the Judiciary Committee and request that they do not to raise this bill. This proposed law eliminates current protections against undo potential harassment.

Most police officers simply wish to investigate legitimately suspicious activity, and not harass someone who is merely carrying a firearm and minding their own business. Law enforcement officers should not be allowed to stop and frisk law-abiding citizens who are not suspected of criminal activity.

Important Note:
Police right now currently do have every right to ask individuals to produce and show a carry permit. They simply do not have the authority to demand it without someone acting in a suspicious manner. This is a very important distinction that protects your 4th amendment rights.

Please send an email tonight, and ask these legislators to OPPOSE H.B.6200
Ask them to not allow police to stop and detain lawful residents without probable cause.

Sen. Doyle, Co-Chair (prefers mail form emails)

Rep. Tong, Co-Chair

Sen. Kissel, Co-Chair

Sen. Winfield, Vice Chair (prefers mail form emails)

Sen. McLachlan, Vice Chair

Rep. Stafstrom, Vice Chair

Rep. Rebimbas, Ranking Member

Rep. Simmons

Rep. Fox

If you need suggestions on what to write, we’ve got some sample letters you can use for ideas. Click here: Sample Letters

If you have any questions, contact CCDL’s Legislative Coordinator:
Ray Bevis
Phone 860-800-2235
Email legislative@ccdl.us