Action Alert

We NEED EVERYONE to contact your State Representative and State Senator. The anti-gun movement is out in full force, and their paid lobbyists are working very hard to get these bills called on the house floor.

We need every second amendment supporter to call and ask to speak with their State Rep. and State Senator. Be polite and professional. Leave a message and ask that they call you back.

Find your State Representative and State Senator and then select their name to find their contact information.

Legislators NEED to hear from us. They need to know how their constituents want them to vote, and need to hear your voice. This is an election year, your legislators work for you! Everyone needs to take action to preserve your freedom here in Connecticut.

Ask the legislators to:

Vote NO on H.B. 5540 AN ACT CONCERNING GHOST GUNS

Vote NO on H.B. 5542 AN ACT CONCERNING BUMP STOCKS AND OTHER MEANS OF ENHANCING THE RATE OF FIRE OF A FIREARM

Vote YES on H.B. 5539 AN ACT CONCERNING FIREARMS IN STATE PARKS

A few weeks ago, the Judiciary Committee voted these bills out of the committee and are closer to being called on the House floor. To see how the committee members voted on these bills follow the links:

H.B. 5540 AN ACT CONCERNING GHOST GUNS

H.B. 5542 AN ACT CONCERNING BUMP STOCKS AND OTHER MEANS OF ENHANCING THE RATE OF FIRE OF A FIREARM

H.B. 5539 AN ACT CONCERNING FIREARMS IN STATE PARKS

Time is limited. You need to take action now before it’s too late!

If you have any questions about these bills, feel free to email CCDL’s Legislative Coordinator, Ray Bevis legislative@ccdl.us

Action Alert!

Our 2nd Amendment rights are under attack once again here in Connecticut. The Connecticut General Assembly’s Judiciary Committee is voting on three important gun bills this Monday, April 2nd.  We need every CCDL member to contact the legislators on the Judiciary Committee TODAY. These legislators have already heard from many trying to take our rights away, they need to hear from us.

These bills are NOT just bans on bump stocks and “ghost guns”. There are many other infringements hidden in these bills. Legislators need to know we are staying vigilant.

Ask the legislators to:
OPPOSE: H.B. No. 5540 AN ACT CONCERNING GHOST GUNS AND THE PERMIT APPLICATION PROCESS
OPPOSE: H.B. No. 5542 AN ACT CONCERNING BUMP STOCKS AND OTHER MEANS OF ENHANCING THE RATE OF FIRE OF A FIREARM
SUPPORT: H.B. No. 5539 AN ACT CONCERNING FIREARMS IN STATE PARKS

Rep. Albis: James.Albis@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Berger: Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Candelora: Vincent.Candelora@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Carpino: Christie.Carpino@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Conley: Christine.Conley@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Cummings: Stephanie.Cummings@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Currey: Jeff.Currey@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Dan Fox: Dan.Fox@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Dillon: Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Flexer: Mae.Flexer@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Godfrey, Bob: Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Gonzalez: Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Harding: Stephen.Harding@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Labriola: David.Labriola@cga.ct.gov
Rep. McGorty: Ben.McGorty@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Morris: Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov
Rep. O’Dea: Tom.ODea@housegop.ct.gov
Rep. O’Neill: Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov
Rep. Porter: Robyn.Porter@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Rebimbas: Rosa.Rebimbas@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Riley: Emmett.Riley@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Serra, Joseph: Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Srinivasan: Prasad.Srinivasan@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Stafstrom: Steve.Stafstrom@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Storms: Scott.Storms@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Tong: William.Tong@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Walker: Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov
Sen. Berthel: Eric.Berthel@cga.ct.gov
Sen. Gerratana: Terry.Gerratana@cga.ct.gov
Sen. Hwang: Tony.Hwang@cga.ct.gov
Sen. Kissel: John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov
Sen. McCrory: Douglas.McCrory@cga.ct.gov

Upcoming Public Hearing on Gun Bills – Friday March 23rd

The Judiciary Committee will hold a public hearing on Friday, March 23, 2018 at 10 A.M. in Room 2C of the Legislative Office Building (LOB), 300 Capitol Ave, Hartford.

We need members to show up in force and stay united.
REMEMBER THESE BILLS ARE NOT JUST ABOUT BUMP STOCKS AND GHOST GUNS, there is more in these bills that infringe on our rights. People who oppose our rights plan to be there in large numbers.

There will be four gun related bills:

OPPOSE: H.B. 5542 AN ACT CONCERNING BUMP STOCKS AND OTHER MEANS OF ENHANCING THE RATE OF FIRE OF A FIREARM
To ban the sale or transfer, possession, manufacturing or use of bump stocks or other accessories to increase the rate of fire of a firearm.

THIS BILL IS NOT JUST LIMITED TO BUMP STOCKS!
This bill also includes binary triggers, and anything that is constructed, manufactured, designed or intended to mechanically increase the rate of fire in ANY WAY.

OPPOSE: H.B. 5540 AN ACT CONCERNING GHOST GUNS AND THE PERMIT APPLICATION PROCESS
To ban guns without serial numbers and regulate those which are sold in a form requiring the purchaser to finish assembly or that are homemade and to permit local authorities to interview immediate family members as part of a determination of an applicant’s suitability

THIS BILL WILL ALSO CHANGE THE TEMPORARY CARRY PERMIT PROCESS
It will allow local authorities to interview your immediate family members and parents or guardians before issuing applicants their permit.

SUPPORT: H.B. 5539 AN ACT CONCERNING FIREARMS IN STATE PARKS
To permit persons to carry firearms in state parks.

H.B. 5538 AN ACT CONCERNING A NONEXPIRING AMMUNITION PERMIT
To allow an option for a life-time ammunition permit.

Members are encouraged to give oral and written testimony on these bills. Speaking order will be determined by a lottery system. Lottery numbers will be drawn from 8:00 A.M. to 9:30 A.M. in Room 2500 of the LOB. Speakers arriving after the completion of the lottery will have their names placed at the end of the speaker list. Other CCDL members will be there to direct you.
Please submit 50 copies of written testimony to the Committee staff no later than 9:00 A.M. in Room 2500 of the LOB. Testimony received after the designated time may not be distributed until after the hearing.

It is also recommended that you email your written testimony in Word or PDF format to JUDtestimony@cga.ct.gov a day or two before the hearing. Many legislators prefer to read your testimony online. Be sure to also send a copy of your written testimony to your State Senator and State Representative.

Testimony should clearly state your name and the bills you are testifying on. The Committee requests that testimony be limited to matters related to the items on the agenda. Speakers will be limited to three minutes of testimony.

If you are unable to attend, but would still like to have your voice heard on these issues, please email your written testimony in Word or PDF format to: JUDtestimony@cga.ct.gov
Be sure to send a copy of your written testimony to your State Senator and State Representative.

If you are able attend but do NOT wish to speak or submit testimony, please come and help fill the seats with Second Amendment supporters. This hearing will likely last many hours, please consider coming even if only for a few hours.

More information
Read our Public Testimony Tip Sheet for help composing your written or in-person testimony.
Legislators would like to hear from you in your own words, but if you are stuck for ideas, here is a sample of what your testimony might look like.